Legitimate questions or lunatic fringe?

On 9/11 this year a friend sent me a link to this video (the film is called Loose Change). I’m not a fan of conspiracy theories so I didn’t bother to look at it. Mostly because I believe conspiracy theories are a way some people cope with tragedy. Nothing wrong with that I suppose. I just don’t like the way the logic of a conspiracy argument is so carefully assembled and presented to arrived at a predetermined conclusion generated not by logic applied to evidence but by a psychological need.


Today I was about to delete my friend’s email and decided to click on the link and take a quick look. I wound up watching all 82 minutes of it. I still don’t believe Bush was behind 9/11. But I do believe a lot of important questions have not been answered or even looked into.

For example, the points this video makes about vaporized commercial aircraft were particularly interesting. I heard them on the news in 2001 and never questioned them. But seven years later it sounds ridiculous that a plane would vanish on impact.

Full-fledged White House conspiracy? Probably not. Some deception, back room dealing and opportunistic behavior in our executive branch at the expense of the American public? Plausible — assuming at least some of the material in this video is accurate. Check it out. What do you think?

P.S: I wanted to find a decent video that was at least as compelling from the opposite viewpoint. All I found was a slanted emotional tirade by Penn & Teller. If anyone knows of good video that explains things like vaporized planes please let me know

Meanwhile here are few voices from the other side of the issue I found posted on a forum:

Debunking the 9/11 Myths: Special Report – Popular Mechanics

Loose Marbles: Debunking 9/11 Conspiracy Theories

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Federal Building and Fire Safety Investigation of the World Trade Center Disaster

See also:

Debunking the BBC’s 9-11 Conspiracy Files

0 Responses to “Legitimate questions or lunatic fringe?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Twitter: @Nonrhotic

Pages

Archives

Follow me on Twitter:

http://twitter.com/nonrhotic

